Memorable Games

                                       *If viewing the site in 1600*1028 resolution, click Ctrl and minus once.
Update your Java & Flash players.


Games 1 - 4 can be accessed by pressing the triangle.

Report, 23 / 8 / 2012: Ten time MCC Champion Guy West alongside first time winner Dusan Stojic. 

A hearty congratulations on behalf of the club and it's members to new MCC Champion FM Dusan Stojic. Dusan took out his first MCC title last night defeating IM Guy West 3-1 in a 4 game play-off. For the 70 or so people who watched the first ever Australian match broadcast online by webcam (or came in person) the 4th game took on a familiar feel with West gaining an early initiative and Stojic growing devastatingly accurate as the game wore on. Needing a final round win with white to force a rapid West showed that he can play just about anything and after 13 moves in the Barry Attack white had achieved a potentially decisive position: (check out the line with 13. h5!, Qc8, 14. Nxc6, Qxg4?? or 13. h5!, Qc8, 14. Nd7!)

As in game II Dusan played near-perfect chess with the Bishop-pair, opening the position and neutralising any white initiative, then going on to press for the win. 

International Master Guy West (left) and FIDE Master Dusan Stojic.

MCC Cup Weekender 2011

Jason Chew impresses with a miniature against International Master Mirko Rujevic

Sylvester Urban takes out the 2012 Malitis Memorial in style with a 12 move win over Richard Voon.

Bosko Mijatovic gets on the wrong end of a West pearler in 2009. 

David Beaumont stayed sharp in the ending to produce a memorable swindle!

Felix Wyss upsets International Master Mirko Rujevic in the first round of the 2009 MCC Club Championship.

2008 Melbourne Chess Club Champion Malcolm Pyke V Carl Gorka

Anthony Hain plays a nice Italian Regretted against Justin Tan in the 2011 MCC Open.

The joys of being the webmaster;)

Doing to them as a player what he's doing to them as a President- Grant Szuveges and the MCC are attacking with a superior force!

Greg Hjorth - Bill Jordan, Australian Championship 1977-8